Plus Nulz Regretz

— The private Cabinet of Margaret of Austria (2015)

Zefiro Torna – Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven – Ief Spincemaille

Plus Nulz Regretz is a production by Zefiro Torna and contemporary artist Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven and was commissioned by Laus Polyphoniae 2015. By means of polyphonic music and textual as well as visual symbolism, this performance reflects the complex social and emotional environment of Archduchess Margaret of Austria.

The well-known ‘Chansonniers’ of Margaret of Austria contain the favourite regretz-chansons by composers such as Pierre de la Rue, Josquin des Prez and Hayne van Ghizeghem. Branded by her personal device ‘Fortuna infortune fort une’, they express the intellectual and emotional self-image of Margareta. Also the allegorical verses from ‘l’Epître de l’Amant Vert’ that, by hand of biographer and court poet Jean Lemaire de Belges, are spoken by Margaret’s parrot, penetrate candidly into her personal environment.

Visual artist Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven has a particular fascination for the depiction of female figures in various media. The iconographical and devotional symbolism in illuminated manuscripts, tapestries, jewellery, clothing, prayer books and relics from Margareta’s period were a source of inspiration for the creation of an iconostasis. Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven’s collage technique and explicit imagery facilitate the visual guiding of thought processes and contribute to Zefiro Torna’s ‘Gesamtkunst’.

Zefiro Torna
Axelle Verner mezzo soprano
Vojtěch Semerád tenor
Jon Etxabe Arzuaga tenor
Bart Meynckens bass
Jowan Merckx recorder, bagpipe, percussion
Liam Fennelly fiddle, viola da gamba

Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven visual arts

Ief Spincemaille installation

Celine Felga assistant visual arts, scenography

Louis van der Waal spoken text (tape)

Bo parrot