Calendar

News

25-05-2018:

20-05-2018:

Lassus Grand Cru - extra show


Good news for those who were to late to buy a ticket for Lassus Grand Cru on August 22nd at Laus Polyphoniae: this 'tasty' performance with Stefaan Degand will be heard, seen and tasted a second time that same evening. Don't want to miss that? Buy your ticket for the show at 10:15 pm.

17-04-2018:

On tour with Lassus Grand Cru


Even in the 16th century, people already knew that masterful Renaissance composer Orlandus Lassus's music leaves no one untouched. The fact that his sweet tones created a perfect concordance with great wine, was an open secret.

Zefiro Torna now combines both elements - Lassus's popular repertoire on the one hand, and a selection of exclusive wines on the other – into the sensuous production Lassus Grand Cru. During this musical wine tasting, countertenor and skilled wine expert Steve Dugardin, along with a professional actor, will entertain the audience with exquisite faits divers about Lassus's life.

Zefiro Torna will be touring in Belgium and abroad with this tasteful production.

16-01-2018:

Spring 2018

"Raise the glass! Start the song! Come, let’s cheer, let’s drink, As long as the bright stars shine, as long as the fine bottle bestows on us its content, and the full glass beckons us to enjoyment. Come, my friends, let’s make a toast! Let us all drink!" (Anon., 16thC)

We would like to raise our glass with you on the dawn of this new year in a literal way: during the performance of Lassus Grand Cru, wine flows abundantly to the sounds of Lassus' sweet and danceable songs. In our performance of Slumber, soprano Lore Binon, cellist Benjamin Glorieux and lutenist Jurgen De bruyn will submerge you in nightly atmospheres. Furthermore, 2018 brings many foreign adventures. Coming spring, Zefiro Torna will tour the Netherlands (Slumber and Lassus Grand Cru), France (Scattered Rhymes), Italy (De Fragilitate), Germany and the Czech Republic (Lassus Grand Cru).

We wish you a creative, lovely and exquisit 2018!

16-10-2017:

Warm and festive sounds

Sunday 29 October is the end of daylight saving time. No better medicine to enter the cold winter days than the warm, healing sounds of the Balsam production. After a sold-out Belgian premiere in Leuven, we will bring this program to Bierbeek on 29 October.

A day earlier we will make some Brugse cafés unsafe, together with vocal ensemble Viermaliks, with drinking songs of Orlandus Lassus during Klara's event 'Iedereen Klassiek'. The grand finale of this Lassus Café Chantant will take place in the Concertgebouw Brugge.

newsletter

Lassus Grand Cru

— Musical wine tasting (2017)

Zefiro Torna - Stefaan Degand

The masterful renaissance composer Orlandus Lassus performed all contemporary 16th-century music genres with similar easy and lucidity. Apart from writing impressive spiritual works such as masses, passions and motets, he also applied himself to more popular genres. During Mons 2015, European Capital of Culture, that had an important focus on Lassus, the idea of organising a Lassus Pub Crawl arose. Amateur choirs from numerous European cities gathered around Orlandus Lassus’ repertoire of French chansons, Italian villanelles and German drinking songs. Together they took the audience on a musical journey with short concerts in the setting of cafés and taverns.

From this repertoire, lute player and artistic director Jurgen De bruyn compiled an elysian program for professional vocalists and instrumentalists. The French chansons touches all aspects of the soul: sometimes with poetry from the Pléiade, at times scabrous, vulgar or even explicitly erotic. The Italian villanelles and nonsensical moresche are colourful dancing songs that are easy on the ear, and also the German täpfrige drinking songs, referring in their texts to the profusely flowing wine and beer, are an essential ingredient of the evening.

The program forms a heavenly match with an exquisite selection of wines that can be tasted during the performance. The wines have been selected by a skilled wine expert, inspired by Lassus’s European home grounds and the songs’ specific characteristics. Counter tenor and certified oenophile Steve Dugardin and actor Stefaan Degand entertain the audience with delightful bits of trivia about Lassus’s life.

“A feast for all senses” Rhein-Neckar Zeitung, 23.04.2018

  • Cécile Kempenaers soprano
  • Steve Dugardin counter tenor & maître de cérémonie
  • Jan Van Elsacker tenor
  • Tiemo Wang/Florian Götz bass
  • An Van Laethem/Annelies Decock renaissance violin

  • Dimos de Beun recorder, spinet
  • Philippe Malfeyt lute, colascione
  • Jurgen De bruyn lute, renaissance guitar, artistic direction
  • local actor

Calendrier

Nouvelles

25-05-2018:

20-05-2018:

Lassus Grand Cru - extra concert


Bonne nouvelle pour ceux qui n'ont pas pu décrocher un billet pour Lassus Grand Cru le 22 août au festival Laus Polyphoniae: cette performance savoureuse sera entendue, vue et dégustée une deuxième fois la même soirée. Réservez vite votre billet pour le spectacle à 22h15.

17-04-2018:

Lassus Grand Cru en tournée


La musique du compositeur Orlandus Lassus ne laisse pas les âmes indifférentes. En outre, le lyrisme de sa musique forme un mariage parfait avec de bons vins.

Zefiro Torna combine les deux ingrédients - le répertoire populaire de Lassus et une sélection exquise de vins - dans la production très appréciée Lassus Grand Cru. Au cours de cette dégustation musicale, le contre-ténor et connaisseur de vin certifié Steve Dugardin et un acteur divertissent le public avec de plaisants fait-divers sur la vie de Lassus.

Zefiro Torna sera en tournée avec cette production en Belgique et Europe dans les mois à venir.


16-01-2018:

Printemps 2018

Levez le verre! Abordez la chanson! Buvons, tant que les étoiles brillent, tant que cette merveilleuse bouteille nous offre son liquide, tant que le verre nous invite à profiter. Allez, les amis, levez le verre! (Anon., 16ième siècle)

Nous levons le verre pour inaugurer cette nouvelle année avec vous. On le prend au sens littéral: pendant le spectacle Lassus Grand Cru, le vin coule richement sur les tons des chansons douces de Lassus. Dans le programme Somnia, la soprane Lore Binon, le violoncelliste Benjamin Glorieux et le lutiste Jurgen De bruyn vous plongent dans une atmosphère nocturne. En outre, 2018 nous apporte de nombreuses aventures à l'étranger: ce printemps Zefiro Torna est invité aux Pays-Bas (Sluimer, Lassus Grand Cru), en France (Scattered Rhymes), en Italie (De Fragilitate) en Allemagne et en République Tchècque (Lassus Grand Cru).

Nous vous souhaitons une merveilleuse et créative année 2018!


16-10-2017:

Chaleur et bonheur

Le changement d'heure du dimanche 29 octobre annonce l'arrivé de l'hiver. Rien de mieux que les sons chauds et guérisseurs de la production Balsam pour neutraliser ces froides journées. Après un concert 'sold out' à Louvain, nous présentons ce programme à Bierbeek le 29 octobre.

Un jour plus tôt, en collaboration avec l'ensemble vocal Viermaliks, nous occupons quelques cafés à Bruges avec des chansons à boire et d'autres divertissements d'Orlandus Lassus pendant l'événement de Klara, Iedereen Klassiek. On se retrouve au Concertgebouw Brugge pour l'apothéose de ce Lassus Café Chantant.

newsletter

Lassus Grand Cru

— Dégustation de vin sur musique (2017)

Zefiro Torna - Stefaan Degand

Compositeur magistral de la Renaissance, Orlande de Lassus a pratiqué tous les genres contemporains de l'art musical du 16e siècle avec la même facilité et lucidité. En plus d'écrire des oeuvres spirituelles grandioses, messes, passions et motets, il s'est également concentré sur les genres populaires. Dans le cadre de Mons Capitale Européenne de la Culture 2015, où un accent important était mis sur Lassus, l'idée d'organiser un Barathon Lassus était née. Des ensembles vocaux, chorales amateur et musiciens professionnels de Zefiro Torna sont rassemblés autour du répertoire Lassus de chansons françaises, villanelles italiennes et chansons à boire allemandes. Ensemble ils réussissent à captiver leur public pour de courts concerts dans le décor de cafés et tavernes.

De ce répertoire, luthiste et directeur artistique Jurgen De bruyn a distillé un programme féerique pour un groupe de chanteurs et musiciens professionnels. Les chansons françaises émeuvent l'âme: tantôt par le lyrisme des poètes de la Pléiade, tantôt grâce à leur caractère scabreux, vulgaire ou même explicitement érotique. Les villanelles italiennes et moresques insensées sont des oeuvres dansantes et divertissantes qui se vendent comme des petits pains. Aussi les chansons à boire allemandes täpfrige, se référant dans leurs textes à du vin et de la bière coulant abondamment, n'en peuvent être absents.

reZette

Le programme et une sélection exquise de vins, pouvant être dégustés durant le spectacle, forment une combinaison parfaite. Ces vins, soigneusement sélectionnés par le conseiller en vins Emmanuel Vandeperre (Vineplus), se basant sur les régions Européennes où s'arrêtait Lassus et les caractéristiques typiques des chants. Contreténor et connaisseur en vins diplômé Steve Dugardin et acteur Stefaan Degand divertissent leur public avec de plaisants fait-divers.

Cécile Kempenaers soprano
Steve Dugardin contreténor
Jan Van Elsacker ténor
Tiemo Wang/Florian Götz basse


An Van Laethem/Annelies Decock violon renaissance
Dimos de Beun flûte à bec, épinette
Philippe Malfeyt luth, colascione
Jurgen De bruyn luth, guitare renaissance

Stefaan Degand acteur
Steve Dugardin maître de cérémonie