CD release Time Crawls

The CD TIME CRAWLS is out on the label HOMERECORDS.BE and also available on our webshop (> CD).

Zefiro Torna takes us into a timeless universe with a reinterpretation of the 17th century broken consort music. Melodies intuitively created by flute player Jowan Merckx received a new arrangement for flute, violin, viola da gamba, violone, harp and lute by composers Marnix De Cat and Martin Valcke. The new written music bears traces of baroque and traditional music from all over Europe. The music, which is sometime melancholic, sometimes nimble and festive, fascinates by its ingeniously crafted texture and invites to dance.


BALSAM on tour

This autumn, the alchemistic laboratory BALSAM with Laika, Theatre of the Senses will be on tour again. After two series of performances at the Boulevard Festival in Den Bosch and Cultura Nova in Heerlen in August, the team is ready for it! Prepare yourself for a bewitching ritual in which music, scents and flavours immerse you in the shimmering world of alchemy. Besides the Greenwich+Docks International Festival in London and a tour to Portugal and France, BALSAM also passes by a number of Belgian venues.

--> Take a look in the agenda for all dates


Release documentary PAST >| ORALE

As an introduction to the performance PAST >I ORALE Zefiro Torna asked film maker Mathias Ruelle to create a short documentary. Through the eyes of five characters, this film highlights a few elementary parts from which the performance originated. The music of PAST >I ORALE - a wonderful mix of Beethoven, sound art and alternative pop - resonates as a soundtrack.

> Watch the documentary here (from June 15th until July 13th)


CD release Llibre Vermell

'A summer evening in Catalonia, 1399. A group of pilgrims are sitting next to the wall of the abbey church of Montserrat. They have come in search of forgiveness, purification, a fresh start.' Zefiro Torna and Psallentes re-opened this famous "Llibre Vermell de Montserrat". You can find our intimate version of the pilgrim songs on our newest CD, out now on the label Le Bricoleur. Get your copy here, it's the ideal soundtrack for a relaxing summer evening.


BALSAM on Podium 19

Tune in to Podium 19, a new tv-channel for culture, on Sunday 21 March at 6pm for BALSAM, and let yourself be carried away by the enchanting music and images of the alchemistic concert by Zefiro Torna and Laika. Afterwards you can watch the show for another month on VRTnu.

Of course we look forward to welcome you live again into this magic laboratory. We are planning a long tour in Belgium and abroad, which we hope to start in June.


Select how you want to stay informed about the activities of Zefiro Torna:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking on the 'unsubscribe link' in the footer of every email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your data in accordance with our privacy conditions.


— Dick van der Harst based on Jacob Obrecht (2008)

Zefiro Torna - Het Nieuw Gents Stadsblazerscollectief

As son of a city trumpeter in Ghent, Jacob Obrecht (1457-1505) lead an active life as ‘Kapellmeister’ in the Lower Countries and in the Italian city of Ferrara. He is considered to be one of the most important late medieval European composers and as such his pioneering work was of great importance for the early polyphony. Ghent city composer Dick van der Harst (1959) confronts his music with the typical sound of the gamelan – one of the world’s highest musical forms, closely related to Javanese religion and mythology. Three women’s voices, vast bronze gongs, percussion, particular tone scales and selected instruments will make you part of an informal and even more intriguing ritual.

"Lovers of Renaissance music, gamelan music and Louis Andriessen have pure gold in their hands with this cd." Het Parool, 25.02.2009

  1. Ergo Dulce Melos
  2. Dulce Melos Succentorum
  3. Bona Sera
  4. Mille Quingentis
  5. Res Seriae
  6. Kyrie
  7. Gloria: et in terra pax hominibus
  8. Clarisono
  9. Illumina Oculos Meos
  10. Domine Maris Undisoni
  11. Credo
  12. Non Vides Sed Audis
  13. Olim Quod Erat (Nunc Fuit)
  14. Sanctus
  15. Agnus Dei I
  16. Agnus Dei II
  17. Ite Missa Est

Zefiro Torna

  • Cécile Kempenaers soprano, percussion
  • Els Van Laethem mezzo-soprano, percussion, trombone
  • Petra Noskaiová alto, percussion
  • Liam Fennelly fiddle, percussion
  • Jurgen De bruyn lute, renaissancegitaar

Het Nieuw Gents Stadsblazerscollectief

  • Jean-Philippe Poncin clarinet, tenora, percussion
  • Kurt Budé clarinet, sax, percussion
  • Dick van der Harst bagpipes, snares, tible, percussion, bandoneon
  • Michiel Weidner cymbalon, percussion
  • Michel Van Achter recording, mixing, mastering
  • LOD, Zefiro Torna, Muziekcentrum de Bijloke, Festival van Vlaanderen - Gent producers
  • Michel Van Achter & Corentin Aussems artwork
  • Lieven Dirckx photography
  • Denis Maréchal painting

Released by homerecords