Calendar

News

26-11-2018:

CD release BALSAM


Zefiro Torna releases 'Balsam' at Antarctica Records, successor to the productions ‘Les Tisserands’ and ‘O, Monde Aveugle!’. The project unites musicians who are experts in various genres such as old, ethnic and jazz music. This time the mysterious forces of plants, flowers and herbs formed the starting point for the programme.

"An unctuous and euphonious balsam for the mind and the soul. A truly intoxicating experience." - thus Stefan Grondelaers. Have a look at our trailer for a first impression.

Order the CD here - for yourself or as a Christmas gift. And for extra listening pleasure we offer the trilogy 'Tisserands - O Monde Aveugle - Balsam' for a small price.

06-11-2018:

Launch museum podcast Hof van Busleyden


From 9 November, you can discover the Hof van Busleyden museum in Mechelen through the eyes of three idiosyncratic storytellers. A musician translates Burgundian life into music, a classicist recounts the rebirth of the Court of Busleyden, and a psychiatrist connects past and present. The musical part is told by Jurgen De bruyn (the other museum podcasts were compiled by Patrick De Rynck and Dirk de Wachter), in an audio directed by the young radio producers Wederik De Backer and Lucas Derycke.

27-09-2018:

Allegoria at Ghent Festival of Flanders


This autumn a retrospective exhibition of Baroque painter Adriaen Brouwer will be held in his native town of Oudenarde. Brouwer was a master in painting lively folk scenes. With his sublime landscapes he inspired great masters such as Rubens.
As part of the Ghent Festival of Flanders, Zefiro Torna brings the paintings of Brouwer and contemporaries such as the young Pieter Breughel, Frans Hals and Jan Steen to life with soprano Annelies Van Gramberen. The allegorical themes from their graphics and paintings are the guiding principles: Love and Vanity, Death and Transience, Wisdom versus Foolishness and 'Rudities'. Zefiro Torna draws on a treasure trove of picturesque folk and Beggars’ songs and from collections of songs and madrigals by publishers, poets and composers such as Bredero, Vallet and Hacquart.

EXTRA
On Friday 28 September Klara will broadcast live from the MOU Oudenaarde. Jurgen De bruyn will be a guest at Pompidou (5-7pm), and will talk about the symbolic themes that inspired him to create the programme ‘Allegoria’.


25-05-2018:

20-05-2018:

Lassus Grand Cru - extra show


Good news for those who were to late to buy a ticket for Lassus Grand Cru on August 22nd at Laus Polyphoniae: this 'tasty' performance with Stefaan Degand will be heard, seen and tasted a second time that same evening. Don't want to miss that? Buy your ticket for the show at 10:15 pm.

newsletter

De Fragilitate

— Piae Cantiones School songs and hymns from medieval Finland (2006)

Zefiro Torna – Antwerps Kathedraalkoor

In 1582, Jaakko Finno, headmaster of the Turku cathedral school, and Petri, a Finnish student at the university of Rostock, publish a unique collection of Latin songs for the Schola Aboensi (Latin for Turku).

This book, Piae Cantiones ecclesiasticae et scholasticae veterum episcoporum, contains music of an wide chronological and geographical scope. Stylistically the content is clearly older than the publishing date might suggest. Some compositions can be traced back to the year 1000 AD. However, the main body of the compositions belongs to the 15th-century Germanic-Bohemian tradition of cantiones. Moreover, there are links with French, Spanish and Italian sources and Flemish masters such as Jacob Obrecht, which can probably be explained by the continuing presence of Finnish students in Catholic universities all over Europe.
The hymns, most of which are Christmas songs, are grouped according to the liturgical year: Christmas, Easter and Whitsun. The remaining songs deal with the transitoriness of earthly life, the condition humaine, the life of school children, biblical subjects and the awakening of nature in spring.

Few musical collections from the 16th century have become so strongly embedded in the contemporary musical life as the Piae Cantiones in Finland. Since the rise of national romanticism in the early 20th century, they occupy a central place in the Finnish choral and church repertoire. The Finnish religious folk music also contains variations on the hymns, and composers have made arrangements of the songs, e.g. the ‘Carminalia’ by Sibelius.

Zefiro Torna performs the Piae Cantiones with 15th-century instruments, one voice and a boys choir. The academic and folkloric music traditions are brought together by the use of the Finnish cymbalo or kantele.

Annelies Van Gramberen soprano
Jowan Merckx flute, bagpipes
Liam Fennelly fiddle, viola da gamba
Frank Van Eycken percussion
Timo Väänänen kantele
Jurgen De bruyn lute, artistic direction

Antwerps Kathedraalkoor o.l.v. Sebastiaan Van Steenberghe

Calendrier

Nouvelles

26-11-2018:

Release CD BALSAM


Le 14 décembre, Zefiro Torna présente le disque ‘Balsam’, successeur des productions ‘Les Tisserands’ et ‘O, Monde Aveugle!’. Le projet réunit des musiciens experts dans différents genres tels que la musique ancienne, ethnique et le jazz. Cette fois-ci, ce sont les pouvoirs mystérieux des plantes, fleurs et herbes qui constituent le point de départ du programme.

"Un baume onctueux et euphonieux pour l’esprit et l’âme. Une expérience vraiment enivrante.", en dit Stefan Grondelaers. Regardez notre trailer pour une première impression.

Commandez le disque ici - pour vous-même ou comme cadeau de Noël. Et pour encore plus de plaisir, nous vous proposons la trilogie «Tisserands - O Monde Aveugle - Balsam» à petit prix. Bonne écoute!

06-11-2018:

Lancement podcasts Musée Hof van Busleyden


À partir du 9 novembre, vous pourrez découvrir le musée Hof van Busleyden à Malines à travers les yeux de trois conteurs privilégiés. Un musicien traduit la vie bourguignonne en musique, un classique raconte la renaissance de la cour de Busleyden et un psychiatre relie le passé au présent. La partie musicale est racontée par Jurgen De Bruyn (les autres podcasts du musée ont été compilés par Patrick De Rynck et Dirk de Wachter) dans un enregistrement audio réalisé par les jeunes producteurs de radio Wederik De Backer et Lucas Derycke.

27-09-2018:

Allegoria lors du Festival de Flandres de Gand


Cet automne, une exposition rétrospective du peintre baroque Adriaen Brouwer se tiendra dans sa ville natale, Oudenarde. Brouwer était un maître dans la peinture de scènes folkloriques animées. Avec ses paysages sublimes, il a inspiré de grands maîtres tels que Rubens.
Dans le cadre du Festival de Flandre de Gand, Zefiro Torna donne vie aux peintures de Brouwer et de ses contemporains, tels que le jeune Pieter Breughel, Frans Hals et Jan Steen, avec la soprano Annelies Van Gramberen. Les thèmes allégoriques de leurs graphiques et peintures sont les principes directeurs: l'amour et la vanité, la mort et la transitivité, la sagesse contre la folie et les «rudités». Zefiro Torna puise dans un trésor de chansons folkloriques et de mendiants pittoresques, ainsi que dans des collections de chansons et de madrigaux d’éditeurs, de poètes et de compositeurs tels que Bredero, Vallet et Hacquart.

EXTRA

Le vendredi 28 septembre, Klara diffusera en direct du MOU à Oudenarde. Jurgen De Bruyn sera l'invité de Pompidou (17h-19h) et parlera des thèmes symboliques qui l'ont inspiré pour créer le programme «Allegoria».

25-05-2018:

20-05-2018:

Lassus Grand Cru - extra concert


Bonne nouvelle pour ceux qui n'ont pas pu décrocher un billet pour Lassus Grand Cru le 22 août au festival Laus Polyphoniae: cette performance savoureuse sera entendue, vue et dégustée une deuxième fois la même soirée. Réservez vite votre billet pour le spectacle à 22h15.

newsletter

De Fragilitate

— Piae Cantiones Des chansons scolaires et des chansons religieuses provenant de la Finlande médiévale (2006)

Zefiro Torna – Antwerps Kathedraalkoor

C’est en 1582 que Jaakko Finno, directeur de l’école cathédrale de Turku et éditeur de l’hymne finlandaise, publia en collaboration avec un étudiant finlandais à l’Université de Rostock, s’appelant Petri, une collection particulière de chansons latines pour la ‘Schola Aboensi’ (Latin pour Turku).

Le livre titulé ‘Piae Cantiones ecclesiasticae et scholasticae veterum episcoporum’ contient de la musique qui s’étend largement au niveau chronologique et géographique. Du point de vue stylistique le contenu est nettement plus ancien que la date de publication ne le suggère. Certaines compositions peuvent être tracées jusqu’à l’an 1000. Par contre, la contribution principale des compositions provient de la tradition cantio germano-bohémienne du 15ième siècle. En plus, des liens existent avec des sources italiennes, espagnoles et françaises et des maîtres flamands comme Jacob Obrecht. Ce qui est probablement dû à la présence continue d’étudiants finlandais dans les universités catholiques partout en Europe.
Les chansons religieuses, dont la majorité sont des chansons de Noël, sont regroupées par année liturgique : Noël, Pâques, Pentecôte. Les autres chansons ont comme thèmes la précarité de la vie sur terre, la condition humaine, la vie d’écoliers, des sujets bibliques et le réveil de la nature en printemps.

Peu de collections musicales du 16ième siècle se sont si fermement ancrées dans la vie musicale contemporaine comme l’ont fait les Piae Cantiones en Finlande. Depuis l’expansion du romantisme national au début du 20ième siècle, elles font partie de la tradition chorale finlandaise et elles sont représentées dans des hymnes ecclésiastiques. Nous retrouvons des variantes dans la musique populaire religieuse de la Finlande, elles mènent à des arrangements de compositeurs comme Jean Sibelius dans son oeuvre ‘Carminalia’.

Zefiro Torna interprète les Piae Cantiones utilisant un instrumentarium du 15ième siècle, une voix musicale et un choeur d’enfants. L’utilisation d’un cimbalon finlandais ou un kantele relie la musique académique avec celle de la tradition populaire.

Annelies Van Gramberen soprane
Jowan Merckx flûte, cornemuse
Liam Fennelly vièle, viola da gamba
Frank Van Eycken percussion
Timo Väänänen Kantele
Jurgen De bruyn luth, direction artistique

Choeur d’enfants - Antwerps Kathedraalkoor o.l.v. Sebastiaan Van Steenberghe