An exciting cultural season

This fall, in addition to a few concerts, Zefiro Torna is preparing a number of (inter)national productions that will premiere in spring 2020.
We are especially looking forward to work with the theater company Laika. Together we'll transform the Balsam program into a mysterious alchemical lab where the public is served elixirs, ointments, syrups, all while the music enchants.
In addition, we will bring a few noon concerts at Opera Vlaanderen with the Champions des Dames program.
We'll also celebrate Beethoven 2020 with the hybrid concert installation PASTORALE, in which the music helps shape an ecology of microscopic life forms.

Follow us on facebook for more news and a look behind the scenes.


Premiere Time Crawls

On Tuesday, August 13, the production Time Crawls will premiere during the festival De Zomer van Sint-Pieter in Leuven. Melodies by Jowan Merckx - member of Zefiro Torna - were arranged by composers Marnix De Cat and Martin Valcke for a new kind of broken consort, performed by an international top cast. The program traverses the European mainland from Scandinavia to the Mediterranean, and from Ireland to the Black Sea via polkas, bourrées, jigs, Breton folk dances and waltzes, to the typical tonalities and rhythms of the Balkans.

Don't miss the premiere and buy your tickets


Summer 2019

With the holidays ahead we announce our summer concerts. After some well-deserved rest, we're back on stage with B.I.G. at the MAfestival Bruges and Llibre Vermell at the Eté Mosan Festival. We also make time for the creation of the brand new production Time Crawls with melodies by Jowan Merckx, set by composers Marnix De Cat and Martin Valcke for a new kind of broken consort.


Balsam - sold out

Both Balsam concerts on 6 and 7 May 2019, during the Lunalia festival, are now sold out. Want to see Balsam live? Come to Dil'Arte in Dilbeek on 6 April, there are still a few tickets left.


Select how you want to stay informed about the activities of Zefiro Torna:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking on the 'unsubscribe link' in the footer of every email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your data in accordance with our privacy conditions.

In Flagrante Delicto

— Gesualdo da Venosa - A letter to Maria d'Avalos (2009)

Zefiro Torna – Ensemble Polyfoon – Tom de Hoog

Don Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa (1560-1613) is one of the most controversial composers in music history. Early in his life he got possessed with music and started playing the harpsichord, lute and guitar. His experimental, mostly vocal, works are reminiscent of the renaissance and point in the direction of a new baroque style. His works are immersed in dissonants and chromaticisms and in exuberant word paintings they express strong emotions such as love, pain, death, ecstasy and agony. Without any doubt this can be traced back to Gesualdo's own tumultuous life. He caught his first wife in the act with her lover and killed them shockingly with his own hands. What's more, some sources mention that he denied his second son and even cuddled him to death. In the city of Ferrara, where he married Leonora d'Este, the avant-garde atmosphere offered him new creative possibilities. But without much delay his misfortune caught up with him, and to be sheltered from his avengers he locked himself in his Naples castle, looking for a cure in vain. Close to his music chapel and his servants, he spent the last years of his life in anxiety psychosis and depression.

Actor Tom de Hoog writes and performs a compelling text on insanity and schizophrenia while Zefiro Torna stages madrigals dedicThe Ensemble Polyfoon on the other hand draws from Gesualdo’s “Sacrae Cantiones”, some of which were added to by Igor Stravinsky. A new composition by Flemish composer Jeroen D’hoe concludes the evening.The Ensemble Polyfoon on the other hand draws from Gesualdo's partly unfinished “Sacrae Cantiones”. They were added to by Igor Stravinsky and now – in creation – by Flemish composer Jeroen D'hoe.

Tom de Hoog actor

Ensemble Polyfoon conducted by Lieven Deroo

Griet De Geyter, Cécile Kempenaers, Els Van Laethem soprano
Liam Fennelly viola da gamba
Jurgen De bruyn lute
Sarah L. Ridy harp