An exciting cultural season

This fall, in addition to a few concerts, Zefiro Torna is preparing a number of (inter)national productions that will premiere in spring 2020.
We are especially looking forward to work with the theater company Laika. Together we'll transform the Balsam program into a mysterious alchemical lab where the public is served elixirs, ointments, syrups, all while the music enchants.
In addition, we will bring a few noon concerts at Opera Vlaanderen with the Champions des Dames program.
We'll also celebrate Beethoven 2020 with the hybrid concert installation PASTORALE, in which the music helps shape an ecology of microscopic life forms.


Select how you want to stay informed about the activities of Zefiro Torna:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking on the 'unsubscribe link' in the footer of every email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your data in accordance with our privacy conditions.


— BTHVN transhumanized (2020)

Zefiro Torna - SEAD network

Zefiro Torna and SEAD network (Space Ecologies Art & Design) worked out a concert installation that links the musical and philosophical motives by Ludwig von Beethoven linked to the theme of nature versus man, society and science.


In his allegorical ballet ‘Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus’ Beethoven presents a titan who brings fire to earth and thus frees man from the dictates of the gods, through science, art and a new morality.

A similar optimism of progress characterizes the DNA of the international transdisciplinary network of artists, scientists, engineers and activists SEAD. The collective acts against a dystopian world marked by disrupted social systems, xenophobia, market-economy thinking and ecological problems. This new self-confident generation emphasizes an increasing psychological connection of all people, supported by advanced means of communication and a further computerization of society. They mould the future into a new form in an own and unique way, through critical research, hands-on experiments and paradigm-changing projects in which ecology, technology and community are radically integrated.


Pieter Steyaert - co-founder of SEAD - designed ‘PAST >l ORALE’ as a utopian ecosystem in which computers, plants and man enter into a symbiotic relationship. Within this biosphere, sound art and music help shape an ecology of microscopic life forms: the frequencies and patterns emerging from the music influence the conditions of this living matter. This hidden world becomes visible to the public and performers through microscopic image capturing, projections and lighting.

The phenomenological processes that take place in this new kind of biosphere lead to a new acoustic reality. In the sonorous landscape that emerges from this, sound fragments (shards) from Beethoven’s program-based oeuvre depict human nature and soul power. It shows similarities with the ‘Petite symphony intuitive pour un paysage de printemps’ (1973-74) by the French composer Luc Ferrari (1929-2005).

Hybrid singing and sounds generated by bionic instruments transport the audience ‘im glückliche Fahrt’ to a new time and space.

Creation: 27 April 2020, Lunalia Festival Mechelen

Zefiro Torna

  • Lynn Suemitsu (JPN/USA) singer/performer (alias ‘Golin’, known from the electronic music scene)
  • Mathis Van Cleynenbreugel tenor, French horn
  • Jurgen De bruyn (BE) lyra guitar, mandolin, lute, electronics, concept, musical direction
  • Benjamin Glorieux (BE) cello, electronics
  • Pak Yan Lau (BE/HK) toy piano, electronics, trash synths
  • Frederik Croene (BE) piano démécanisé
  • Yannick Willox (BE) sound engineer

SEAD network

  • Pieter Steyaert (BE) installation

BTHVN ‘shards’ | Motifs from: 6th Symfonie in F majeur ‘Pastorale’ - Cello Sonata nr. 5 - ‘Der Wartelschlag’ - ‘Seufzer eines Ungeliebte’ - ‘An die ferne Geliebte’ - ‘Tempest Sonata’ - ‘Moonlight Sonata’ - ‘Meeresstille’