Calendar

News

23-03-2020:

Zefiro Torna's antidote


Like many other artists and ensembles, Zefiro Torna had to cancel upcoming concerts due to the corona crisis. It's a pity, but the health of everyone around us comes first.

In the meantime, we continue to work on future projects from our attic, living room or improvised office. Every week, we'll provide a musical antidote, starting with this playlist on Spotify: https://spoti.fi/3bl07iS

Stay healthy and creative!

13-01-2020:

A lab of senses

In January 2020, Zefiro Torna will reshape the production of Balsam into a music theater performance that stimulates all the senses. To this end, the ensemble works together with theater company Laika - Theater der Zinnen. Balsam becomes a visual and physically stimulating laboratory in which the live music merges with surprising scents and flavors. While the music is simmering and enchanting, the spectators witness all kinds of experiments and chemical processes: oil solidifies dropwise into edible pearls, milk becomes electric, charcoal a sweet treat. Balms, powders, drinks and amuse gueules in all scents, colors and flavors are presented and shared by the performers with those sitting next to you, premiered on January 31, 2020 in Le Channel (Calais, FR) and then on tour in France, The Netherlands and Belgium.

06-12-2019:

21-11-2019:

newsletter

Select how you want to stay informed about the activities of Zefiro Torna:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking on the 'unsubscribe link' in the footer of every email you receive from us, or by contacting us at info@zefirotorna.be We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your data in accordance with our privacy conditions.

Llibre Vermell

— Llibre Vermell De Montserrat (2012)

Psallentes – Zefiro Torna

The setting is a peaceful summer’s evening. A small group of pilgrims is resting, leaning against the church wall of the Abbey of Montserrat. They have travelled far and made their long journey to come and worship the famous black Madonna. In the proximity of Mother and Child, these pilgrims expect enlightenment, forgiveness, purification, inspiration and a new beginning.

Very soon and even ‘in situ’, some of the pilgrims return to their perverted habits. After their long journey they need to blow off steam, they drink, make a racket singing and dancing wildly. But not so these quiet pilgrims against the church wall. They are enjoying each other’s company. They also want to erupt in song, but these are songs of a complete other nature: to pass the time in the evening, they sing songs for the Madonna. They know their classics through and through.

They claim to be able to sing the 'O, Virgo spledens' in a triple canon. And the 'Los set Gotx' we will bring in their own tongue, not in Latin. We sum up the seven virtues of the Virgin Mary. And in the 'Ad mortem festinamus', we reflect thoroughly on our sins and death. They are all well known songs and the Abbey’s monks have written them down meticulously in a booklet, as if they wanted to say: “These songs and no other”.

Psallentes and Zefiro Torna have once again opened this booklet.

Zefiro Torna

Liam Fennelly or Manuela Bucher fiddle
Jowan Merckx flutes, bagpipes, percussion
Jurgen De bruyn medieval lute, guiterne, percussion, artistic direction

Psallentes

Hendrik Vanden Abeele
Paul Schils
Philippe Souvagie
Govaart Haché
Adriaan De Koster
Pieter Coene

Calendrier

Nouvelles

23-03-2020:

L'antidote de Zefiro Torna


Comme beaucoup d'autres artistes et ensembles, Zefiro Torna a dû annuler les concerts à venir en raison de la crise corona. Très dommage, mais la santé de tous ceux qui nous entourent passe avant tout.

En attendant, nous continuons à travailler sur de futurs projets depuis notre grenier, notre salon ou notre bureau improvisé. Chaque semaine, nous proposerons un antidote musical, à commencer par cette playlist sur Spotify: https://spoti.fi/3bl07iS

Restez en bonne santé et créatif!

13-01-2020:

Un laboratoire des sens

En janvier 2020, Zefiro Torna transforme la production de Balsam en une performance de théâtre musical qui stimule tous les sens. À cette fin, l'ensemble travaille avec la compagnie de théâtre Laika - Theater der Zinnen. Balsam ainsi se transforme en un laboratoire visuel et physique dans lequel la musique live fusionne avec des parfums et des saveurs surprenantes.Tandis que la musique mijote et enchante, les spectateurs assistent à toutes sortes d'expériences et de processus chimiques: l'huile se solidifie goutte à goutte en perles, le lait devient électrique, le charbon de bois un régal sucré. Des baumes, poudres, boissons et amuse-gueules dans toutes les senteurs, couleurs et saveurs sont présentés par les interprètes et partagés avec ceux assis à côté de vous. En première le 31 janvier 2020 au Channel (Calais, FR), puis en tournée en France, Pays-Bas et Belgique.

06-12-2019:

21-11-2019:

19-11-2019:

Découvrez nos productions pour la saison culturelle 2020-2021


A partir de 2020, Zefiro Torna annonce un nouveau printemps, avec de nouvelles collaborations internationales, des créations multidisciplinaires révolutionnaires et de la musique intemporelle qui fait vibrer corps et âme. Découvrez notre brochure avec les productions pour la saison 2020-2021

Newsletter

Sélectionnez comment vous souhaitez rester informé des activités de Zefiro Torna:

Vous pouvez vous désabonner à tout moment en cliquant sur le lien de désabonnement situé en bas de chaque email que vous recevez de notre part ou en nous contactant à info@zefirotorna.be. Nous traiterons vos informations avec respect. En cliquant ci-dessous, vous acceptez que nous puissions traiter vos données conformément à nos conditions de confidentialité.

Llibre Vermell

— Llibre Vermell De Montserrat (2012)

Psallentes – Zefiro Torna

Le soir tombe. Cette soirée d’été s’annonce douce. Un petit groupe de pèlerins s’est assis contre le mur de l’Eglise de l’Abbaye de Montserrat pour se reposer. Ils viennent de contrées lointaines. Ils ont entrepris ce long voyage pour venir adorer la célèbre Madone noire. Cette Vierge à l’Enfant est réputée être source de consolation, de pardon, de purification, d’inspiration. Bref, génératrice d’un nouveau départ.

Parfois, les pèlerins y tombent dans la débauche. Ils s’enivrent, deviennent bruyants, dansent comme des sauvages. Après ce long voyage, ils sentent le besoin de se défouler. Mais ceux que nous avons vus, assis au pied du mur de l’Eglise, sont d’un autre ordre. Enveloppés par la chaleur du partage, ils laissent également libre cour à leurs sentiments, mais ici dans des chansons en l’honneur de la Madone. Des classiques, qu’ils connaissent par coeur.

'O, Virgo splendes' se prête bien à être chanté comme un canon à trois voix, pensent-ils. Et 'Los set Gotx' peut être chanté dans leur langue propre, et pas en latin. On énumère les sept vertus de la Vierge. Et dans 'Ad mortem festinamus', on se penche davantage sur les vices et la mort.

Ce sont des chansons célébrissimes, et les moines de l’Abbaye les ont scrupuleusement transcrites dans un livre, comme pour dire « des chansons pas comme les autres ».

Psallentes et Zefiro Torna l’on rouvert, ce livre.

Zefiro Torna

Liam Fennelly ou Manuela Boucher vièle
Jowan Merckx flûtes, cornemuse, percussion
Jurgen De bruyn luth médiéval, guiterne, percussion, direction artistique

Psallentes

Hendrik Vanden Abeele
Paul Schils
Philippe Souvagie
Govaart Haché
Adriaan De Koster
Pieter Coene